top of page

Jane McDermott Chairs RUSO Board of Regents

Jane McDermott was named chair of the Regional University System of Oklahoma Board of Regents beginning with their new term. Appointed as a RUSO regent by Gov. Mary Fallin in 2017, McDermott succeeds Connie Reilly who has served as chair since 2021.

McDermott’s service to civic and community organizations includes serving as current president of Alva Board of Education and Wheatland Republican Women. She is the past president of the Higher Education Alumni Council of Oklahoma, Alva Youth Council, Delta Zeta Sorority Alumni board and Northwest Family Services. McDermott has served on the Advisory Board of the Bill Johnson Correctional Center since its inception. She has been recognized as Alva’s Citizen of the Year by the Alva Chamber of Commerce, received the Economic Development Award from the NWOSU Chapter of the American Association for University Women and recognized with the NWOSU Outstanding Alumni in Business award.

“I am thrilled to step into the role of RUSO chair and give back to the university system that gave me so much,” said McDermott. “As the largest four-year university system in the state of Oklahoma, RUSO is providing our state’s residents with the degrees and skills they need to succeed in the workforce.”

McDermott is co-owner of deVine Water and McDermott Insurance Company. She was executive director of the Northwestern Oklahoma State University Foundation and Alumni Association from 1987 until 2005.

A graduate of Northwestern Oklahoma State University, McDermott earned a bachelor’s degree in library science and physical education and a master’s degree in secondary curriculum and instruction. At Northwestern, McDermott played for the Lady Rangers basketball team and ran track.

She lives in Alva with her husband, Max. They have two children and six grandchildren.


The Regional University System of Oklahoma governs six regional universities: University of Central Oklahoma, Northeastern State University, Northwestern Oklahoma State University, Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Southwestern Oklahoma State University and the University of Central Oklahoma. It was created on July 6, 1948. For more information about the Regional U


bottom of page