top of page

Board chairman: Oklahoma's regional universities meet students where they are

Each year nearly 40,000 students enroll in our system's six universities: Northeastern State University, Southeastern Oklahoma State University, East Central University, Southwestern Oklahoma State University, Northwestern Oklahoma State University and the University of Central Oklahoma.

By 2020, 72 percent of the jobs in Oklahoma are expected to require college education. Increasing investment in education is the way forward to provide for the educational and economic needs for Oklahoma's future generations. We continue to face this challenging climate with grit, tenacity, and above all, flexibility.

Like my fellow regents, I'm pleased that our campuses have or are in the process of placing nearly 80 complete degree programs online. These include bachelor's programs crucial to Oklahoma's needs in areas like nursing, cyber-security, business administration, criminal justice, computer sciences, career and technology education, health sciences and PK-12 education.

Many of these same academic programs are available online as master's degrees — with others in specialized areas, like criminal justice administration at UCO and autism spectrum disorders education at NSU, and often in accelerated programs. These unique programs meet the needs of place-bound professionals whose work responsibilities and family obligations prevent them from pursuing traditional learning settings.

Read more at NewsOK here.

bottom of page